Cardfight!! Vanguard Wiki


11,217pages on
this wiki
You can't move; you can't attack; you can't even retire. All you can do is just float there.

Suiko Tatsunagi, Episode 130

BT13-007EN-RRR (Sample)

Star-vader, Chaos Breaker Dragon

"Lock" (呪縛ロック Rokku) is a keyword, which refers to the action to change the state of a rear-guard to be a locked card, and introduced in Trial Deck 11: Star-vader Invasion.

In the anime, Lock is visually shown as two black rings collapsing onto the unit reverting it into card form and on the table, the face down card is shown to emit sparks when the player attempts to touch it, and at the end of the turn, all cards that were affected return to be face up automatically without making a turn.

In Cardfight!! Vanguard G, Lock is shown as a red sphere engulfing the locked unit on the field. However, the Star-vaders' variation continue with two orbiting black rings around the lock.

How it Works

When a rear-guard is locked, it turns face down and remains face down in where it is until the end of its owner's turn. A locked card loses all characteristics present on its side face-up, as well as other characteristics that it received. A locked card is not a rear-guard (and hence it is not a unit either), and both it and its circle are considered to not exist while it is locked.

Since a locked card is not a unit, it cannot be used to perform any action; it cannot attack, boost, intercept, use its own abilities, be used to pay costs, be moved to another circle or zone, or be retired by calling another unit over it. A locked can only be used by effects that explicitly affect a locked card.


All locked cards are turned face up in [Stand] state at the beginning of the owner's end phase, this being called "unlock" (解呪アンロック Anrokku). An unlocked card returns to be rear-guard alongside its circle in where it is. However, the unlocked card is considered to be a different card than the original, and therefore, all effects received to that card before it was locked disappear (For example, if the unit had to leave the field at the end of turn, this does not happen since it was locked). Also, the unlocked card is not considered to be placed on (RC), so "placed on" effects are not activated.

Starting from Booster Set 14: Brilliant Strike, there are cards that can unlock with their effects, most notably Salvation Lion, Grand Ezel Scissors, who can unlock all of your locked cards with his Limit Break. This allows units to make their opponent's locking efforts nullified or to relock units to reuse locking skills. G Trial Deck 5: Fateful Star Messiah introduces the first cards whose effects are achieved at be unlocked.

Omega Lock

"Omega Lock" (Ω呪縛オメガロック Omega Rokku) is a special variation of lock introduced in Booster Set 15: Infinite Rebirth, which it prevents a locked card to be unlocked during the owner's end phase after it was locked.

When a locked card is affected by Omega Lock, during the owner's next turn, on his/her end phase, they cannot unlock that unit. That locked card will only be unlocked at the end of the owner's second turn. However, locked cards affected by Omega Lock still can be unlocked with card effects.

If a same locked card is affected by Omega Lock multiple times in the same time, it will not prolong the Omega Lock's duration of two turns.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Question: If I have Liberator of the Round Table, Alfred as my vanguard and 1 of my 5 rear-guards has been locked, will my vanguard's Power be 19000 or 21000 due to his Limit Break?
    Answer: 19000. Your locked card does not exist on the field anymore.
  2. Question: If my vanguard is Dragonic Overlord and my only rear-guard is an Embodiment of Armor, Bahr which is locked, will my Dragonic Overlord gets [Power]-2000?
    Answer: Yes. It will be treated as though there is not a unit on the rear-guard circle, meaning Dragonic Overlord will get [Power]-2000. Note that this does not affect skills such as Lord, since the locked card no longer counts as a unit.
  3. Question: If the card text says that I may lock my own rear-guards instead of my opponent's, then do my locked rear-guards stay locked until the end of my opponent's turn?
    Answer: No. If you are the one who locked your rear-guards then you will turn them face up at your end phase. If you lock your opponent's rear-guards, then your opponent must wait until the end of his/her next turn. Also, be noted that Prison Gate Star-vader, Palladium's skill allows you to bypass this ruling.
  4. Question: If I have a locked card in one of my rear-guard circles and they no longer exist on the field can I retire it to place a new unit in it's place?
    Answer: No. Though the card no longer exists on the field it cannot be retired because there would be nothing to retire. The idea is that the rear-guard circle the card is locked on is engulfed by the void. So a locked card cannot be retired to play a new one.

For more information see:

List of Cards

Can Lock

Angel Feather

Aqua Force

Dark Irregulars

Dimension Police


Great Nature


Link Joker



Neo Nectar

Nova Grappler

Pale Moon

Royal Paladin

Can Omega Lock

Link Joker

Can Unlock

Cray Elemental


Gold Paladin


Link Joker



Royal Paladin


The kanji used for lock "呪縛" can be translated as "Curse" or "Spell". The kanji used for unlock "解呪" can be translated as "Dispel" or "Disenchant".



  • A unit is encircled by two black rings...
  • ...engulfed in a bright light...
  • ...reduced to a card...
  • ...and being locked by two rings.
  • The unit is locked in a red/black sphere.

Normal Unlock

  • A card turned face down by lock...
  • ...unlocks at the end of turn.

Unlocking by Skill

  • The lock is cut...
  • ...the black ring is destroyed...
  • ...and the unit is unlocked.

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki